Printer Friendly...

To print any of the recipes on this blog go to the words "LINKS to this post" at the bottom of your selected post. A printer friendly button will then appear, click the button and it will print the recipe. Enjoy!!!

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Are Egg Beaters Gluten Free?

Before I had posted the recipe for the delicious Crustless Thanksgiving Pie, which originally called for egg beaters instead of regular eggs,  I had contacted the company to find out if egg beaters were indeed gluten free. Since I hadn't heard back from them in time for pie making over the holiday, I used real eggs, which made the pie come out excellent by the way, but I did receive a email from the company upon my return that I would like to share...
 
 
Sharon,
 
Thank you for your email concerning our Egg Beaters.

We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to obtain accurate information about our food to help plan their meals and diets. And we continue to look for ways to meet the dietary needs of our consumers.

Since wheat is a major food allergen, if it is used in the product it would be listed in the contains statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities. If any ingredient in the product includes rye or barley, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. Oats do not contain gluten, but they frequently have been exposed to wheat or barley and are not recommended for Celiac patients. If Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors, or Spices listed in the ingredients list contain wheat, rye or barley, these ingredients would be listed in parenthesis immediately following the ingredient. Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. Most of the vinegar in our products is distilled and through the distilling process protein gluten is removed.

Starting January of 2012, we began producing the following brands validated as gluten-free with gluten-free printed on their labels:


-Cocoa: Swiss Miss all varieties
-Egg Beaters: all varieties-Tomatoes: Hunt's all varieties (excluding Pasta Sauces, Tomato Sauces and Ketchup's)
-Orville Redenbacher's: all Ready to Eat varieties
-Pudding: Swiss Miss & Snack Pack, excludes those containing Tapioca

Below is a list of some of our other products that do not contain added gluten*

Category/Brand/Items:

-PAM Cooking Spray: all varieties except PAM Baking
-Hebrew National: all items except Franks in a Blanket
-Wesson oils: all varieties
-Peter Pan Peanut Butter: all varieties
-Popcorn: Act II microwave, Orville Redenbacher jar and microwave, excluding Crunch n Munch and Poppycock
-Spreads: Parkay, Blue Bonnet, Fleischmann's and Move Over Butter
-David Seeds: all varieties
-Tomato Sauces: Hunt's tomato paste and sauces excluding pasta sauces
-Ketchup: Hunt's all varieties
-Reddi-Whip: all varieties
-Ro*Tel Tomatoes (excluding sauces)

*These items have been identified as not containing gluten. They are not currently routinely tested to affirm they contain less than 20ppm gluten for a 'gluten-free' claim.

We always advise consumers who may have sensitivities to recheck the ingredient list on each package. Products are oftentimes reformulated and the ingredients may change. If you have additional questions about your personal dietary needs, please consult your doctor or a registered dietitian.


Christine
Consumer Affairs Representative
ConAgra Foods
Case: 61320050

If you have any questions or concerns about any of their products you may contact them at the number listed (1-877-266-2472) or visit them at this site: http://www.congrafoods.com

Most companies will answer any questions or concerns that you are unsure of, if you will contact them.

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving Holiday, and as always....Have a GREAT wheat free day!!!
Sharon


No comments: